HGV Driving and some Important aspects related to it

HGV Driving and some Important aspects

The transportation industry’s major part is HGVs (Heavy Goods Vehicles). It has several sorts of licences tied to a single HGV category (Heavy Goods Vehicles). Many conditions must be met in order to obtain an HGV licence and also to know how much do HGV drivers earn per hour? These are simply in place to ensure that everything runs smoothly and legally. 

These licences are dependent on a variety of parameters, including the vehicle itself, as well as other aspects such as weight, the material of the weight transported, and so on. HGVs (Heavy Goods Vehicles) are also known as LGVs (Light Goods Vehicles) (Large Goods Vehicles).

Also, see How much do HGV drivers earn per hour? to comprehend what is required in terms of HGV driving

Need and Eligibility for HGV Licence

This question has an easy answer. If you wish to drive a vehicle that weighs more than 3.5 tonnes, you’ll need an HGV licence. You cannot drive an HGV with your full driver’s licence, which is normally a category B licence.

Using a category B licence for HGV driving is deemed prohibited. Instead, for HGV driving, you’ll require the categories C, C+E, C1, and C1+E. These cars are also known to be stiff in this category.

To obtain an HGV licence, you must be at least 18 years old, have a valid driver’s licence, and pass a medical, theory, and practical test.

Types of HGV licences

When it comes to HGV licence types, it’s evident that there are a variety of vehicles, and hence a variety of licences. 

To obtain an HGV licence, different types of licences require different prerequisites to be met.

Prerequisites for the same are:

  • Minimum age of 18 years is required for Class C1, as well as a Class B licence.
  • Minimum age of 18 years is required, as well as a class C1 licence before applying for a C1+E licence.
  • Class C requires a class B licence as well as one should be at least 18 years old.

The following are examples of several types of licences:

Category C+E: The category C+E licence is the most prestigious of them all. This sort of licence permits you to drive cars weighing nearly 7.5 tonnes, with a trailer weighing up to 270 kilogrammes. You must first obtain a Category C licence before applying for this sort of licence.

Category C: This is the most frequent sort of licence, and it permits you to drive vehicles weighing between 3.5 and 7.5 tonnes, as well as trailers weighing up to 750 kgs but not more than that. If you want to drive bigger vehicles, you must have an HGV c+E licence.

Category C1:  This is one of the smallest driver’s licence, mainly reserved for smaller vehicles such as vans and other comparable vehicles.

CPC in HGV Driving

The CPC stands for Certificate of Professional Competence. It’s required if you’re driving a commercial vehicle that weighs more than 3.5 tonnes.

This specifies that an HGV licence requires the addition of a CPC qualification. To get the driver CPC, follow the below written steps

  • You must first pass a theory test that is similar to the theoretical test required for an HGV driver’s licence.
  • Then you must pass the case study test for the Driver CPC (Certificate of Professional Competence).
  • You should pass the Driving Ability Test with flying colours.
  • You must also pass a demonstration test for the Driver CPC (Certificate of Professional Competence).

The process to Apply for HGV Licence

To obtain an HGV driver’s licence, several requirements must be completed. These steps are discussed in depth.

  • To begin, you must apply for a vehicle operator’s licence.
  • A theory test, which is divided into three categories: theory test, hazard perception theory test, and case studies, is required.
  • You must schedule your driving ability test, also known as a practical test.
  • Test your practical demonstration skills.
  • NVT Card.

Also Read: HGV Training